MISD's FFA Chapter Earns High Honors



The MISD FFA Chapter attended the Texas Tech State CDE Contest. We would like to congratulate our teachers/coaches and their students for a job well done!

  • Ag Communications placed 6th in the state, bringing home Mansfield's first top 10 CDE plaque in over 20 years
    • Team Members: 
      • Journalistic Writer: Sam Malone, MHS, 6th place individual 
      • Video Editor: Ryan Matkovich, FSA, 20th place individual 
      • Web Designer: Carleigh O'Polka, MHS 
      • Opinion Writer: Madison Rubio, FSA 
    • Coach: Mrs. Roberts 
  • Agronomy: 17th in State 
    • Team Members: 
      • London Laurence, LHS
      • Brooke Mills, MHS
      • Sophia Patterson, LHS
      • Hailey Plumlee, LHS
    • Coach: Mr. Willson 
  • Cotton Judging: 111th in State 
    • Team Members: 
      • Erica Strickland, MHS 
      • Kyler Hryhorchuk, MHS 
      • Emilee Altman, LHS 
      • Shelby Bowling, LHS 
    • Coach: Mrs. Brown 
  • Horse Judging: 55th in State 
    • Team Members: 
      • Olivia Patterson, LHS 
      • Owen Tyler, MHS 
      • Rilee Mathews, MHS
      • Anthony Absetz, LHS
    • Coach: Mrs. Brown 
  • Plant ID: 22nd in State 
    • Team Members: 
      • Jayden Grissett, LRHS
      • Audrey Adkison, LHS 
      • Lauren Suttie, MHS
      • Addison Hill, LHS 
    • Coach: Mr. Saenz 


FFA Arlington

District 7 Convention in Arlington: 

Mansfield had 2 district officer candidates and one area officer candidate. The election process includes a written test, interviews with a panel of judges, and a speech presented to the delegation for the popular vote. 

  • District Officers 
    • President- Sophia Patterson, LHS 
    • 1st Vice President- Hailey Plumlee, LHS 
  • Area Officer
    • Sam Malone, MHS 

Students competed in Speaking Development Events. 1st place winners are advancing to the area contest on May 6th. 

  • Speaking Development Events :
    • 1st Place, Animal Science- Rilee Mathews, MHS 
    • 1st Place, Agribusiness- Sophia Patterson, LHS
    • 1st Place, Plant Science- Carleigh O’Polka, MHS
    • 1st Place, Junior Prepared- Avery Matthews, LRHS
    • 1st Place, Extemporaneous- Ryan Matkovich, FSA
    • 1st Place, Natural Resources- Israel Laureles, MHS
    • 2nd Place, Ag Policy - Sara Franklin, MHS
    • 2nd Place, Ag Tech & Communications - Peyton Kastl, LRHS
    • Speaking Coach: Mrs. Roberts  

Students advancing to Area: 

  • Lone Star Degree- Audrey Adkison, LHS 
  • Honorary Lone Star Degree- Mark Saenz, Advisor 
  • National Chapter Award 
  • Chapter Star Farmer- Hailey Plumlee, LHS 
  • Proficiency in Equine Science-Caroline Schlieker, LHS